You are currently browsing the daily archive for ಜನವರಿ 12, 2009.

The first time I came across his name was in 1991. I found one of his books at the Karnatik Music Book Center (KMBC) in Royapetta, Madras. The moment I started reading this book titled “Veena Lakshana Vimarshe”, I became his fan. Later I have read a few more of his books, and can say that his knowledge in various art farms and languages, and history of Indian music has few comparisons.

So when I got the news of Prof R Satyanarayana getting the Sangeeta Nataka Academy award, I was definitely thrilled.

Here is a clipping from the ‘Star of Mysore’ dated January 11th 2009.

Prof R. Satyanarayana

Prof R. Satyanarayana

For anyone interested in Indian musicology, his works are a must-read. I recommend reading his translation and commentary on Venkatamakhi’s Caturdandi Prakashike.

-neelanjana

Hits

  • 752,314

My book “Hamsanada” for iPad, iPhone or iPod

A Collection of  Samskrta Subhashitas, translated to Kannada

http://www.saarangamedia.com/product/hamsanada

My Book, on Google Play!

My Book Hamsanada, on Google Play

My Book Hamsanada, on Google Play

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9,609 other subscribers

ಅವಧಿಯಲ್ಲಿ ಹೀಗಂದರು:

"ಅಲ್ಲಿದೆ ನಮ್ಮ ಮನೆ…ಇಲ್ಲಿ ಬಂದೆ ಸುಮ್ಮನೆ… ಎಂಬ ಘೋಷ ವಾಕ್ಯದೊಂದಿಗೆ ಬ್ಲಾಗ್ ಮಂಡಲದಲ್ಲಿ ಕಾಣಿಸಿಕೊಂಡವರು ನೀಲಾಂಜನ. ಅಲ್ಲಿದೆ ನಮ್ಮ ಮನೆ ಕನ್ನಡದ ಪರಿಮಳವನ್ನು ಇಂಗ್ಲಿಷ್ ನಲ್ಲಿ ಹರಡುತ್ತಾ ಇದೆ. ಕನ್ನಡದ ವಚನಗಳು, ಸಂಸ್ಕೃತ ಸುಭಾಷಿತಗಳು ಜೊತೆಯಲ್ಲೇ ಸಂಗೀತ ಹೀಗೆ ಹಲವು ಲೋಕವನ್ನು ಈ ಬ್ಲಾಗ್ ಪರಿಚಯಿಸಿದೆ." ಅವಧಿ, ಮೇ ೧೫, ೨೦೦೮

ಇತ್ತೀಚಿನ ಟಿಪ್ಪಣಿಗಳು

Manjugouda police pa… ರಲ್ಲಿ Ugra Narasimha of Vijayan…
neelanjana ರಲ್ಲಿ Samasya Poornam – Part…
neelanjana ರಲ್ಲಿ Samasya Poornam – Part…
charukesha ರಲ್ಲಿ Where in the World is Mount…
ನೇಸರ್ ರಲ್ಲಿ Samasya Poornam – Part…
ಜನವರಿ 2009
ಸೋಮ ಮಂಗಳ ಬುಧ ಗುರು ‍ಶು ಶನಿ ಭಾನು
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

ಬಗೆ ಬಗೆ ಬರಹ

ಸಂಗ್ರಹಗಳು