Last night, when I went online to my favorite Kannada portal, Sampada, I saw the news posted by Ismail.

G T N is no more.

The very first name that comes to mind when someone says the two words “Kannada” and “Science” is that of G T Narayana Rao was better known by his initials – G T N.

He was the Chief Editor for the Kannada Encyclopedia published during 1970’s and 1980’s. In addition to that, he also wrote a large number of articles on Kannada periodicals on various science-related topics. His articles were the prime reason for me to catch on to the “Sky” bug🙂

I just can’t forget the four days I spent as one of the zonal finalists in the “Lekhak – Student of the Year Contest -1983”, conducted by MSIL. The panel of experts who were the judges was headed by GTN. This is where I saw different faces of GTN – the orator, the scientist, the teacher and the music connoisseur. I just can’t forget those moments when I had the opportunity to interact with him.

On the last day of our camp at Madikeri as the contest participants, GTN took us (20 students from Mysore, Haasana, Mandya, Kodagu and Dakshina Kannada districts) to Bhagamandala and Talakaveri, the place where river Kaveri takes birth.

It was almost 25 years ago, but seems like it happened yesterday.

G T N is no more.

Not really, as he still remains in the memories of thousands like me.

Till we breathe our last.

-neelanjana

* A Kannada version (actually the original write-up) of this is available here.