Couple of days ago I wrote about hAvu tuLidene: a pada of ShishunALa Sharrief, sung beautifully by Sulochana – Music by C. Aswath.

ಹಾವು ತುಳಿದೇನೆ ಮಾನಿನಿ
ಹಾವು ತುಳಿದೇನೆ

ಹಾವು ತುಳಿದು ಹಾರಿ ನಿಂತೆ
ಜೀವ ಕಳವಳಿಸಿತೇ ಗೆಳತಿ!
ದೇಹ ತ್ರಯದ ಸ್ಮೃತಿಯು ತಪ್ಪಿ
ದೇವಾ ನೀನೆ ಗತಿಯು ಎನ್ನುತ

ಹರಿಗೆ ಹಾಸಿಗೆಯಾದ ಹಾವು
ಹರನ ತೋಳಿನೊಳಿರುವ ಹಾವು
ಧರೆಯ ಹೊತ್ತು ಮೆರೆವ ಹಾವಿನ
ಶಿರವ ಮೆಟ್ಟಿದೆ ಶಿವನ ದಯದಿ

ಬೋದಾನಂದವಾಗಿ ಬರಲು
ಹಾದಿಯಲ್ಲಿ ಮಲಗಿ ಇರಲು
ಪಾದದಿಂದ ಪೊಡವಿಗೊತ್ತಿ
ನಾದಗೊಳಿಸಿತು ನಿಜದಿ ನೋಡೆ

ಸತ್ಯ ಶಿಶುವಿನಾಳಧೀಶನ
ನಿತ್ಯಸೇವಿಸುವಂಥ ಮಾನಿಗೆ
ಕತ್ತಲಲ್ಲಿ ಬಂದು ಕಾಲಿಗೆ
ಸುತ್ತಿಕೊಂಡಿತು ಸಣ್ಣ ನಾಗರ || ಹಾವು ತುಳಿದೇನೆ ||

I refrained from translating it because  of two reasons : one – many of Sharrief’s poems are not very  easy to interepret, and two – (and more important) – you can measure my poetic skills in English in the same range as the  45 – 65 nanometer chips I work on.

As luck would have it, I found the book of Shishunala Sharief’s songs compiled by N S Lakshminarayana Bhatta in my collection. When I looked for this song, there was one more stanza, which is missing in sulOchana’s rendition.

Here is the missing stanza:

ಕಾರಡಗಿ ಊರ ಹೊರಗೆ
ದಾರಿಗಟ್ಟಿ ತರುಬಿದಂಥ
ಘೋರ ತರದ ಉರಗ ಅದರ
ಕ್ವಾರಿ ಹಲ್ಲು ಮುರಿವ ತೆರದಿ

There was also a note about this song in the preface. It said that the song was composed, and describes the dilemma  Sharief went through when he met a woman who desired him on a dark evening, outside Karadagi village (where he was a school teacher) as he was walking to ShishunaLa.. But Sharief being what he was, crushed the desire as he describes in the song as “stamping the snake”.

Even though I had understood the symbolism here before, this additional reference definitely improved my understanding.

So here it goes – My attempt at a translation with my 45 nm poetic skills!

Snake it was, Oh damsel!
I did step on a snake!

I stepped on the serpent
Jumping in turmoil
I forgot the three worlds
Calling out my saviour || Snake, it was ||

Snake on which Hari sleeps
Snake adorning Hara’s arms
Snake that lifts mother Earth
By grace of Shiva,I crushed it! || Snake, it was ||

While I walked blissfully,
There it lay on my path
With my foot, I did subdue
sonorously, baring the truth ||Snake, it was||

Desire, trying to befall
The servant of ShishnALa’s* Lord
In the dark, thus aspiring
To wrap around my leg  || snake it was||

*shishunALA = shishuvina hALa -> The village where Sharrief lived

-neelanjana